Panel finalizes recommendations for permanent paid sick leave in the Yukon

Whitehorse, YT – Yukon’s Making Work Safe Panel has delivered its final report to the Speaker of the Yukon Legislative Assembly. The report outlines the panel’s recommendations for establishing a permanent paid sick leave program in the territory.

In its report, the panel puts forward 22 recommendations. Among these, it recommends what is and is not considered a “sick day,” who should be eligible, how many days a worker should get, how workers should be paid and workers/employer rights and responsibilities. It also suggested the government explore a co-funded model to pay for the program.

The recommendations are based on input gathered through public engagement with Yukoners hosted last fall. The panel also reviewed published research outlining the success of paid sick leave programs in other jurisdictions.

The panel members wish to thank the over 500 people who contributed to the public engagement.  

“The COVID-19 pandemic has demonstrated how important it is to stay home when you are not well. Making sure a worker is able to afford and access time away from work when they are sick is not only valuable for the wellbeing of that worker, but it also helps protect the health and safety of the broader Yukon public. I appreciate the work each panel member committed to this process and I look forward to sharing it with my colleagues in the Yukon Liberal Caucus.”

  • Minister Richard Mostyn, Making Work Safe Panel co-chair

“Paid sick days are about safety for the public, and equality for workers. We appreciate the work of everyone who took the time to share their experience and helped the panel make these recommendations. Now it’s time to make it happen.”

  • MLA Emily Tredger, Making Work Safe Panel co-chair

Quick facts

 The Making Work Safe Panel was a commitment in the 2021 Confidence and Supply Agreement between the Yukon Liberal Caucus and the Yukon NDP.

  • The panel was chaired by Minister Richard Mostyn and MLA Emily Tredger, and included four members of the public, Justin Lemphers, Staci McIntosh, Kai Miller, and Sheila Vanderbyl. Two members were selected by each party caucus.
  • The public engagement site,, will remain active until February 28, 2022 for those interested in reviewing the engagement. The What We Heard Report summarizing that engagement is attached to the report of recommendations.
  • You can read the full recommendations here.